The ballot to elect UNISON’s general secretary

UNISON is in the process of electing a successor to Dave Prentis who retires as the union’s general secretary on 31 December 2020

be heard. use your voice

The following have been confirmed as candidates in the election to choose a new general secretary for UNISON.

Their names are listed below in the order they will appear on the ballot paper and in the election address booklet.

Paul Holmes

Nominated by one service group executive, two regional councils and 99 branches.

Christina McAnea

Nominated by the national executive council (NEC), five service group executives, nine regional councils and 210 branches.

Roger McKenzie

Nominated by one service group executive, one regional council and 104 branches.

Hugo Pierre

Nominated by 31 branches.

Ballot papers will be sent to members’ home or other notified address in writing. Members will be provided with a pre-paid envelope for the return of the ballot paper to the independent scrutineer. All voting will be by post.

The despatch of ballot papers to individual members will begin on 28 October 2020 and the deadline for receipt of ballot papers is 5pm on Friday 27 November 2020.

If individual members have not received a paper by 10 November 2020, they should contact the ballot helpline via UNISONdirect on 0800 0 857 857.

Members with hearing difficulties can use textphone 0800 0 967 968.

You can find out more about the procedures of this election here.