2018 Service Group Executive By Elections

The results of the 2018 Service Group Executives by elections are now available.

A summary list of the newly elected members is available here

Service Group Executives 2018 summary results*

The term of office will run until the end of National Delegate Conference 2020.

A full copy of the Scrutineer’s report is available to members of UNISON on request. To obtain a copy, email UNISONdirect at udreferrals@unison.co.uk or alternatively call the Member Liaison Unit on 020 7121 5399.

Contested and unopposed seats

The list of candidates in contested and unopposed seats is available to download here.

NB unopposed candidates are not confirmed until the election results have been declared by the Returning Officer on 29 January 2019

Voting Process

Members not on the UNISON central membership system on 10 September 2018 will not be eligible to vote in these elections. Only full members in the relevant region and service group are eligible to vote in this election.

Ballot papers

Members will be able to vote by post or online.

Ballot papers will be sent to members’ home or other notified address. Members will be provided with a pre-paid envelope for the return of the ballot paper to the Independent Scrutineer.

To vote online members should go to: www.ersvotes.com/unisonsge and follow the online instructions.

However, members will require their two-part security code which will be sent to them in the post with their hard copy ballot papers.

The despatch of ballot papers to members will begin on 10 December 2018.

Where members have previously requested (via the RMS) materials in a special format e.g. in large print, they will automatically receive the ballot pack in that format. Any additional requests should be made to the ballot helpline.

Ballot Helpline

If individual members have not received a paper by 17 December 2018 then they should contact the ballot helpline operated by UNISONdirect, on the following telephone number: 0800 0 857 857.

Lines are open from 6am to midnight Monday to Friday and on Saturday from 9am to 4pm. Members with hearing difficulties can use textphone 0800 0 967 968.

Members should endeavour to have their membership number to hand when telephoning.

The latest point at which members can request a ballot paper is 12 noon on 8 January 2019.

Please note that the ballot helpline can only deal with queries from individual members. If branches believe there is a wide-scale problem with receipt of ballot papers amongst their members (for instance if whole departments or geographical areas have not received ballot papers) then the branch should contact their regional office.

Close of ballot and results

The deadline for receipt of ballot papers by the Independent Scrutineer is 5pm on 11 January 2019.

The results will be available on 29 January 2019 and the successful candidate will take office immediately.


Any complaint about the conduct or fairness of this election must be received no later than 5pm on 18 January 2019. Complaints must be in writing and should enclose any supporting documentation. Complaints should be sent to Electoral Reform Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW. Email unison@electoralreform.co.uk Fax 020 8365 7013.

Independent Scrutineer and Returning Officer

The Scrutineer and Returning Officer for this election is Electoral Reform Services, the contact details for which are: Electoral Reform Services The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW. Tel 020 8365 8909. Email unison@electoralreform.co.uk  Fax 020 8365 7013.


Any query regarding this information or this election should be directed to the Member Liaison Unit at the UNISON Centre. Telephone 020 7121 5399.  Email elections@unison.co.uk