NEC by-election: higher education general seat

Voting papers will start being posted on 14 March and must be returned by 22 April

A will be held ballot between 13 March and 22 April for the higher education general seat on the NEC.

The candidates in this election are: Elizabeth (Liz) Baptiste and Sandy Nicoll.

For more information download the election procedures, including the timetable.

Voting Process

Only full members in the higher education service group are eligible to vote in this election.  Members not on the UNISON central membership system on 8 December 2015 are not eligible to vote and will not receive a ballot paper.

Ballot papers

Ballot papers will be sent to members’ home or other notified address. Members will be provided with a prepaid envelope for the return of the ballot paper to the independent scrutineer. All voting will be by post.

The despatch of ballot papers to individual members will begin on 14 March 2016.

Where members have previously requested (via the RMS) materials in a special format, egin large print, they will automatically receive the ballot pack in that format. Any additional requests should be made to the ballot helpline.

Ballot helpline

If individual members have not received a paper by 21 March 2016, then they should contact the ballot helpline operated by UNISONdirect, on the following telephone number: 0800 0 857 857.

Lines are open from 6am to midnight Monday to Friday and on Saturday from 9am to 4pm. Members with hearing difficulties can use textphone 0800 0 967 968.

Members should endeavour to have their membership number to hand when telephoning.

The latest point at which members can request a ballot paper is 12 noon on 19 April 2016.

Please note that the ballot helpline can only deal with queries from individual members.

If branches believe there is a wide-scale problem with receipt of ballot papers among their members (for instance if whole departments or geographical areas have not received ballot papers) then the branch should contact their regional office.

Close of ballot and result

The deadline for receipt of ballot papers by the independent scrutineer is 5pm on Friday 22 April 2016.

The result will be available on 10 May 2016 and the successful candidate will take office immediately.


Any complaint about the conduct or fairness of this election must be received no later than 5pm on 29 April 2016. Complaints must be in writing and should enclose any supporting documentation. Complaints should be sent to Electoral Reform Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW. Email Fax 020 8365 7013.

 Independent scrutineer and returning officer

The scrutineer and returning officer for this election is Electoral Reform Services, the contact details for which are: Electoral Reform Services The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW. Tel 020 8365 8909. Email  Fax 020 8365 7013.


Any query regarding this information or this election should be directed to the member liaison unit at the UNISON Centre.  Direct dial 020 7121 5399. Fax 0207 121 5196. Email