Same Sex Marriage in Northern Ireland

Back to all Motions

2018 National LGBT Conference
27 July 2018

That this conference celebrates that same sex marriage has been legalized in Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Scotland, England, Wales, the USA and Uruguay.

That this conference is concerned that the same rights are not enjoyed by our LGBT+ comrades in Northern Ireland.

That this conference is further concerned that the Democratic Unionist Party (the DUP) has vetoed the democratic will of the Northern Ireland Assembly by using a “petition of concern” and is committed to prevent legislation from reaching the statute books.

That this conference also deplores the agreement between the Tory Government and the DUP and the prominence this gives the homophobic DUP in British politics.

That this conference calls on the National LGBT Committee;

• to work with the NEC and other appropriate committees to highlight the unfair situation regarding equal marriage in Northern Ireland

• to use all means available to support the campaign for equal marriage in Northern Ireland.

Scotland Region